MAxure RP Pro On the Way

FINALLY! The programming gurus over at Axure have caved to the relentless waves of “Why no Mac version?” of their awesome wireframing tool Axure RP Pro. I recently got a tweet from @axurerp stating the following:

“Interested in the mac version for Axure RP? We want to keep you in the loop! Please visit www.axureformac.com for updates on our progress.”

I gave a loud “WOOT!” and actually danced a jig for about 3 minutes… (okay 30 seconds). I then replied and asked about licensing. If I already purchased a Windows license will I have to buy a new one for the Mac version? God I hope not. Here was the response:

“We’re working on licensing for the two versions, but hoping to make it very favorable :)” I mean I’d pay a small fee for the Mac version, but not full price again. I’ll work through VMware Fusion if that’s the case. But the Axure folks are great and I’m sure they will work it out for us trench-workers.

Let’s hope they do it right and get an awesome port of this great tool over to a great platform soon.

3 Responses

  1. Until Axure for Mac will be available, perhaps you’d like to give a try to this younger alternative called FlairBuilder (http://www.flairbuilder.com). It’s a simple focused wireframing/prototyping tool that lets you create highly interactive prototypes using an extensive set of fully functional components. You can define navigations and complex interactions, as well as with conditional logic.

    Doesn’t yet generate documentation/requirements but will do soon, as well as generating sitemap and workflow diagrams using the interactions and conditional logic defined at component level.

    I hope you’ll find it useful!
    Cheers,
    Cristian

    • To be honest I love that Axure doesn’t require a ‘viewer’ app. Where I work we have way too many possible stakeholders and most users do not have local admin rights to their machines and therefore would not be able to randomly install the viewer app themselves. It takes a Service Desk ticket, yadda yadda yadda. Even SMS pushdown would take months for approval, testing, etc. I like where you are heading with FlairBuilder. I’ll keep an eye on it.

  2. Scott, since you need to share your work with other colleages, I can suggest you JustInMind Prototyper. Our new 2.6 version generates HTML of the prototypes, and works with both PC and Mac.

    It also generates documentation, handles requirements and all stuff.

    Besides, you can share the prototypes on our server, and the users only use their web browsers (and a login/password, because you don’t want everyone to see it, of course).

    If you are interested in trying, send me a mail. We’ll have some reviewers promotion when launching the new version.

Leave a comment